Posted on April 27, 2017 by Kirstin Gault
This is where farmers brought their fleeces to be converted into yarn, cloth or blankets and where customers bought tweed and other products. The sign on the roof is disproportionally large so it could be seen from the road above.
When the Woolmill opened in June 2012 after the restoration, the Old Shop was used as the online shop mailing department, and has been closed to the public ever since.
However, as of the 26th of April 2017, the Old Shop is now open to the public - just like it was in the 1920's when Winnie bound the edges of blankets in the shop and offered special customers a glass of sherry!
The Old Shop has been opened just in time for visitors coming down during the Spirt of Speyside Whisky Festival! Keep a look out for Knockando Woolmill scarves that have been made exclusively for the festival...
The Knockando Woolmill is based in northeast Scotland and has been manufacturing woollen textiles continuously since 1784. It is recognised as a unique part of Scotland’s manufacturing heritage and was awarded significant funding for its restoration.
The Woolmill seeks to minimise its impact on the environment throughout its sourcing and manufacturing processes whilst staying true to its heritage and traditions.
All profits go to the Knockando Woolmill Trust to ensure the future of the Woolmill.